That’s all for now

I am currently sitting at my apartment in Seattle, after a final day in San Diego yesterday.  Of all my posts (27 in total), this is by far the hardest to write.  That’s not because I am emotional about being done with the cruise, but because I am feeling extremely lazy right now.  That’s bad, because there’s a lot I have to do in the next few days, and beyond that the next couple months.  But I expect, like this post, I will bring myself to get to all that needs to be done.  Doesn’t mean I have to like it.

It feels a little strange to be back.  A lot piles up when you’re at sea for 20 days (out of town for closer to a month), and a lot changes (why hello Seattle autumn, that was abrupt).  I have not felt at all “landsick,” more evidence that I have low inner ear sensitivity.  And of course, there is a little letdown that my world of science is away from the water and back to computer screens and meetings.  At least for a little while.

Which brings me to this blog.  I have gotten a lot of positive feedback about it, and I am extremely grateful for that.  Just the fact that so many of my friends and family (okay, so not really that many people) have read it and maybe understand a little bit more about what I study makes me really happy.  This is especially true because I am notoriously bad at doing the 10 second “elevator speech” about my research, so I’m sure a lot of people have gotten the wrong idea from talking to me.  Anyway, thank you for reading if you’ve been reading.

I will be taking a break from the blog, but all the content will stay up for a long time.  Hopefully, I will get to have some more adventures at sea in the next few years that I can write about.  I also have a few ideas about using some part of this blog as just a space for my own musings, but I’ll let you know.  For now I will say “so long” until my next ocean voyage.

– Mike

2 thoughts on “That’s all for now

  1. Mom

    I was grateful that you did your blog while you were out to sea. Reading your entries helped me know that you were OK and that the ocean conditions were not as dangerous as I would have been imagining. We actually knew more about how you were doing on a day to day basis than we do when you are in Seattle!! I also enjoyed following Jim’s NYTimes blog. Glad you are all back safe and sound.

    Reply
  2. Rich

    I also enjoyed your blog, though at no point was I concerned for your personal safety. Glad your trip went well, have fun sorting through all that data!

    Reply

Comments

